Kosher is the word used to describe
food that is prepared following strict Jewish biblical dietary laws. The word
kosher means "proper" or "pure." To be kosher, food must come from an acceptable
food group, be prepared correctly and not be combined with certain other foods.
Only animals such as cattle, sheep, goats and deer can be eaten. Dietary laws
require that these animals be raised in a certain way. Pork, game birds and
rabbits are forbidden. Fish with fins and scales can be eaten, but not shellfish,
such as shrimp. Meat and dairy foods can not be cooked or eaten together.
All dishes and utensils used to prepare meat and dairy dishes must also be
kept separate. To meet kosher standards and receive the kosher seal, commercial
foods must be prepared under a rabbi's supervision. Kosher products are often
marked by a K alone or a U or K in a circle. Kosher foods are available in